Children's Special Services Program


Children's Special Services (CSS) may provide comprehensive medical care for children with chronic physical disabilities from birth to 21 years of age. Diagnostic and financial eligibility criteria must be met to participate in the program. The CSS program is coordinated through the local health departments in all 95 counties in the State of Tennessee and provides resources for medical and non-medical services. Additional information regarding the Children's Special Services Program may be accessed online at:

The CSS Program also provides transition planning services to eligible youth age 14 and older. A transition toolkit may be accessed online at:

Eligibility Requirements

Diagnostic Criteria: A child under the age of 21 who is deemed to have a chronic physical disability, which requires medical, surgical, dental or rehabilitation treatment. 

Financial Criteria: Financial eligibility is based on family size and income level. The family’s adjusted gross income must be at or below the 225% federal poverty level.

Tennessee Department of Health Children's Special Services Program Financial Eligibility Requirements Effective January 17, 2024.

  1. Find the location closest to you below, and use their contact information.

  1. Other

Ages Served

  • Ages 11-13
  • Ages 14-16
  • Under 12 Months
  • Ages 6-7
  • Ages 4-5
  • Ages 17-18
  • Ages 8-10
  • Ages 1-3

City Agency Address 1 Address 2 Times Phone Email Web

Related Services