Social Security Administration


The Social Security Administration is a Federal Agency that administers several programs that benefit families in Tennessee. In addition to Retirement and Survivor Benefits, the SSA administers several programs that benefit disabled individuals. An individual, including a child, may qualify for Supplemental Security Income (SSI) Disability if the child meets certain medical requirements and the family has limited income and resources. Adult family members may qualify for SSDI.

Eligibility Requirements

A general description of eligibility requirements for this program may be found at or may be obtained by calling 1-800-772-1213. Under Title 16 of the Social Security Act, a child under age 18 will be considered disabled if he or she has a medically determinable physical or mental impairment or combination of impairments that causes marked and severe functional limitations, and that can be expected to cause death or that has lasted or can be expected to last for a continuous period of not less than 12 months. A medically determinable physical or mental impairment is an impairment that results from anatomical, physiological, or psychological abnormalities which can be shown by medically acceptable clinical and laboratory diagnostic techniques. A physical or mental impairment must be established by medical evidence consisting of signs, symptoms, and laboratory findings - not only by the individual's statement of symptoms.

How to get started

  1.  Phone
  2.  Apply Online
  3.  Walk-In
  4. Find the location closest to you below, and use their contact information.

Ages Served

  • All Ages of Children
  • Full Family Support

City Agency Address 1 Address 2 Times Phone Email Web

Related Services